Yawl Weight Database

You can check and see what your weight is and when it was last weighed.

Click: Database  PDF

Weighing Instructions see Class Rules

Yawl Handicap

Recently  (2022) the Sailing Committee approved new PNs for 2022 of 1091 and 1125, red and blue respectively. This gives a 1minute 40 seconds difference per hour between red and blue boats.


Yawl Class Rules

The object of these rules is to produce a boat of traditional construction for racing and family sailing. It is intended that the given tolerances shall be used to build individual Yawls, which express the ideas of the owner, designer and builder.

Click: Salcombe Yawl Class Rules 2022 update

A Short History of the ‘Envelope’

Just thought that it may be helpful to fill you in on some history of the Yawl class – it’s easy to forget how many years I’ve now been involved with the fleet but it must be in excess of 50! The crunch came in 1988 when 141 was built, to the design of Phil Morrison. His first design was rejected by Dave Gibbons as being too fine forward and he was worried that going on the foredeck to pick up a mooring the boat could capsize, so Phil produced a second ‘less radical design’ which is the 141 that we see today. As class measurer with many years experience of measuring other classes, my advice was sought in the winter of 1988, with a brief to sort the problem out and stop any even more radical Yawls being built.

John Donovan

Click: To see Info and Sections

The Salcombe Yawl Register of Sail Numbers, Boat Names, Builders and Owners.

Click: Salcombe Yawl Register

The Fleeting of Yawls in Open Meetings and Regattas.

The fleeting of Yawls 2011/12 in Open Meetings and Regattas has constantly changed over the years as the numbers of competing Yawls change. Future Race Organisers must have the freedom to organise the racing as they think appropriate.

Click: The list and the debate

Salcombe Yawl Owners Association Constitution

Click: To download the constitution

Salcombe Yawl Owners Association AGM Minutes

 Click: 2011 AGM Click: 2012 AGM Click: 2023 AGM
 Click: 2013 AGM Click: 2014 AGM 
 Click: 2015 AGM Click: 2016 AGM 
 Click: 2017 AGM Click: 2018 AGM 
  Click: 2019 AGM  Click: 2020 AGM 
  Click: 2021 AGM   Click: 2022 AGM